What is an FR-44 form?
An FR-44 form is a document of financial responsibility used in Florida and Virginia that proves you've purchased car insurance. If your license is suspended, your state might require you to prove that you have car insurance before your license gets reinstated. The FR-44 is similar to an SR-22, which is the only form most states use — the only difference is that the liability coverage requirements for an FR-44 are much higher.
Who needs an FR-44 form?
An FR-44 certificate is something most drivers will never need. It's used only in Florida and Virginia and generally required only for people with severe driving offenses. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DUI or DWI and their license is suspended, they might need an FR-44 form to get their license reinstated. Learn more about auto insurance after a DUI.
What's the difference between an FR-44 and SR-22 form?
While the FR-44 is ultimately a form that proves you've purchased auto insurance, it differs a bit from the more commonly known SR-22. The FR-44 form has stricter insurance requirements than the SR-22 and is used for more severe driving offenses, which results in higher liability coverage requirements.
For an FR-44 in Florida, the minimum liability limits are $100,000/$300,000/$50,000. That means a minimum of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage, and $50,000 for property damage liability coverage. Without an FR-44, Florida drivers typically only need $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage, and $10,000 per person for property damage liability coverage. The state's minimum required coverage for bodily injury liability ($10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident) can be waived. Learn more about Florida car insurance requirements.
For an FR-44 in Virginia, drivers must have $60,000/$120,000/$40,000. That's $60,000 per person and $120,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage, and $40,000 of property damage liability coverage. This contrasts with the standard minimum requirements for car insurance in Virginia of $30,000/$60,000/$20,000: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage, and $20,000 in property damage liability coverage.
Important note: Florida and Virginia also use the SR-22, but it's generally only required for drivers with less severe offenses, such as having too many points on their license or getting into an accident while uninsured.
How much does insurance with an FR-44 form cost?
Car insurance costs vary significantly from person to person, so it isn't easy to give an accurate estimate of how much rates might be under the FR-44 form. However, it's safe to assume that insurance rates will be higher for anyone required to submit the FR-44. Not only does the FR-44 form indicate that you might be a higher risk, but the incident that resulted in the need for it can also increase your rate. The additional coverage required by the FR-44 filing will also increase the cost of insurance.
How do I submit an FR-44 form?
If your state requires you to submit an FR-44 form, you must inform your insurance company, and they'll submit the form to your state's department of motor vehicles. If you don't have auto insurance, you should let any prospective insurer know that you need an FR-44 form, since many insurers don't offer FR-44s or SR-22s. If you're a current or new Progressive customer, we can help you submit your FR-44.
Current Progressive customers
Call us at 1-866-749-7436, and let us know which state requires you to file an FR-44.