What are the minimum California auto insurance requirements?
California car insurance laws require all drivers to have coverage. While the state has minimum requirements, sometimes extra insurance makes sense. The minimum amount of liability insurance in California is as follows:
- $15,000 in bodily injury per person
- $30,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 in property damage per accident
You can always increase your auto liability limits to fully protect your assets. Consider setting your limits high enough to cover your total net worth.
Uninsured motorist coverage in California
Uninsured motorist (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) bodily injury coverage covers medical expenses for you and your passengers if you are hit by a driver with too little or no insurance. California also recommends uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage (UM/UIM BI) with the following minimum limits:
- UM/UIM BI: $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident
Note: This coverage can be rejected.
Ready to make the switch? Drivers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save over $650 on average.* Get an auto insurance quote today.
Adding comprehensive and collision coverage protects your vehicle
If you're leasing or financing a vehicle, most lenders in California will require you to carry comprehensive and collision coverages. Comprehensive coverage helps pay for damages to your car that are out of your control, such as theft, fire, or deer strikes. Collision coverage helps cover damages if your car is in an accident with another car or stationary object, like a tree. It's generally worth considering these coverages if you're not sure you could afford to repair or replace your vehicle yourself if it were damaged or stolen.
California medical payments coverage
Medical payments cover the cost of injuries to you or your passengers after a covered accident. Learn more about medical payments coverage.
How much is car insurance in California?
In 2020-2021, the average cost of a California liability-only auto policy (single driver/single car) with Progressive was $68 per month.** Keep in mind that your rate varies based on many factors, including your ZIP code, driving history, coverage selection, and the number of vehicles on your policy.
Can I get cheaper car insurance in California through discounts?
Progressive offers several auto insurance discounts to California drivers, including:
- Vehicle recovery device
- Good driver
- Driver improvement course
- Occasional operator
- Occupation based group program
Interesting facts about California car insurance
In 2019, California topped the nation for reported motor vehicle thefts in the country. Comprehensive coverage can pay to replace a stolen vehicle.
California doesn’t allow insurance companies to use your credit score in auto insurance rate calculations.
California may apply strict penalties for lapsed auto insurance, so it's important to keep your policy up to date.
How to get insurance in California
We ask simple questions and you choose your coverages.
Call a rep
A licensed representative can help to guide you through the process.