What is property damage liability?
Property damage (PD) liability covers other parties' vehicle and property repairs when you're considered at fault in an accident — it's part of your liability coverage. For example, if you fail to stop at a red light and hit another car and a road sign, your PD liability can pay for the repairs to the other car and the road sign. Nearly every state law requires PD — it comes with every vehicle insurance policy.
What does property damage liability cover?
Property damage liability may cover others' property damage, including vehicle repairs if you're at fault in an accident. It may also cover related legal fees. Property damage liability differs from personal liability insurance, which many property insurance policies include. PD liability is for damage you cause while driving, while personal liability is for damage and injuries you're responsible for when not driving.
What's the difference between property damage liability and collision insurance?
Property damage liability covers damage you cause to other's vehicles or property, while collision insurance covers damage to your vehicle no matter who's at fault in the accident. Both are popular auto insurance coverages, but nearly every state requires PD liability, while collision is typically only required by vehicle lenders.
What's the difference between liability and property damage?
Property damage is typically a portion of your vehicle insurance policy's liability coverage. So, property damage is actually part of your liability coverage. Depending on your state's requirements, your auto liability coverage is typically made up of property damage liability (for property damage you cause to others) and bodily injury liability (for others' injuries in an accident you cause).
How much property damage car insurance do I need?
You'll need at least the minimum amount of property damage liability auto coverage your state requires. Here are some examples of how much property damage car insurance you need in different states:
- California car insurance: At least $5,000 of property damage liability
- Florida car insurance: At least $10,000 of property damage liability
- Texas car insurance: At least $25,000 of property damage liability
While PD liability is mandatory, determine how much car insurance you need outside of what's required.
When choosing your PD liability insurance limit, paying a little more for a limit greater than the state minimum may be worth it. If you cause an accident, you'll be responsible for repair costs exceeding your liability limits.
What else is PD liability required for?
PD is required in most states no matter what type of vehicle you drive. Visit our insurance by state hub to find out how much you need depending on your vehicle and state:
- Car insurance requirements by state
- Motorcycle insurance requirements by state
- RV insurance requirements by state
How to find your PD liability limit
When you look at your policy, the property damage liability amount is typically the last number in a list of liability limits. For example, if you have 50,000/100,000/25,000 in liability coverage, you have $25,000 of property damage liability per accident (the other numbers refer to your bodily injury liability coverage per person ($50,000) and per accident ($100,000).