What are Connecticut's auto insurance requirements?
Connecticut drivers are required to have car insurance. The minimum car insurance requirements that Connecticut residents must carry include auto liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
Connecticut also requires uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage (UM/UIM BI), with the following minimum limits:
- UM/UIM BI: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Uninsured motorist coverage covers medical expenses for you and your passengers if a driver with insufficient coverage or no insurance at all runs into you.
While these are the minimum coverages in Connecticut, you may want to consider increasing your auto liability insurance limits to protect your assets.
Do you need comprehensive and collision coverage?
If you have a car lease or loan, lenders will typically require comprehensive and collision coverage. But even if you own your vehicle outright, these car insurance coverages may be worthwhile for protecting your vehicle against physical damage, vandalism, and theft.
Time for a change? Drivers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save over $650 on average.* Get a car insurance quote today.
How much is car insurance in CT?
A Progressive liability-only auto policy (single driver/single car) in Connecticut cost $137 per month in 2020-2021, on average.** Many factors will determine your unique rate, such as your driving history, location, and coverage selections.
What are the available car insurance discounts in Connecticut?
Progressive offers a wide variety of discounts for cheaper auto insurance in Connecticut, such as:
- Five-year accident-free
- Online quote
- Paid in full
- Continuous insurance
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
Bundling your auto and homeowners insurance in Connecticut can help you save money as you work to protect your assets. Own a boat or rent your home? Progressive offers a multi-policy discount when you bundle two or more of your policies, including Connecticut renters and boat insurance.
See all auto insurance discounts.
Snapshot® from Progressive personalizes your rate based on your safe driving habits. See more about Snapshot.
Fast facts about driving and auto insurance in Connecticut
Connecticut has some of the worst road infrastructure in the nation. Collision coverage can pay to repair your vehicle from damage caused by a pothole.
In 2015, Connecticut passed a law requiring first-time DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock device in their cars. Learn more about how a DUI violation impacts auto insurance.
The Insurance Information Institute ranked Connecticut as the 10th most expensive state for auto insurance in 2018. Learn more about how to get cheap car insurance.
How to get car insurance in Connecticut
Answer some easy questions and choose coverages.
A licensed representative will answer any questions you have.
Ask an agent
Need local advice? We'll connect you with a licensed independent agent near you.