Does Hawaii require minimum car insurance coverage?
Yes. Hawaii auto insurance minimum requirements include liability coverage limits of at least:
- $20,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $40,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 in property damage liability
Hawaii also requires personal injury protection:
- $10,000 per accident
Personal injury protection or PIP, covers medical services resulting from an auto accident, regardless of fault. Every Hawaiian driver needs bare minimum coverage to get behind the wheel, but consider increasing your auto liability coverage limits to better safeguard your assets.
Consider comprehensive and collision coverage
If you're leasing or financing your car, your lender likely requires comprehensive coverage and collision coverage. But even if you own your vehicle outright, physical damage coverages may be worth carrying to help pay to repair or replace your ride if it's stolen or damaged in an accident. Learn more about car insurance coverages.
With Progressive's Name Your Price® Tool, you set your price. Let us know how much you're able to pay each month, and we'll show you coverage options in that range. Learn more about our Name Your Price Tool.
How much does auto insurance in Hawaii cost per month?
Auto insurance rates vary based on several factors, including your driving history, ZIP code, and coverage selection.
Can I qualify for discounts on my car insurance?
If you're looking for cheap car insurance in Hawaii, Progressive offers the following discounts and incentives:
- Continuous insurance
- Five-year accident-free
- Three-year safe driving
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
- Online quote
Save money—and protect your assets—by bundling your car and home insurance in Hawaii. Residents of Hawaii can earn a discount when they bundle two or more Progressive policies, including auto, home, renters, and boat insurance.
See all auto insurance discounts.
Switch and save. Nationwide, customers who switch and save with Progressive save $650 on average.* Get your car insurance quote today.
Fast facts about driving in Hawaii:
More than 9% of drivers in Hawaii are uninsured. Hawaii doesn't mandate uninsured motorist coverage but consider adding it for protection against drivers with no car insurance.
In 2019, Hawaii increased fines and license-suspension lengths for first-time DUI offenders. Learn more about auto insurance coverage with a DUI violation on your driving record.
Hold your horn. There's one sound absent from many Hawaiian roads: a car horn. In Hawaii, honking your horn is often considered rude unless it's an actual emergency.
How to get car insurance in Hawaii
Customize your policy's coverages, limits, and deductibles.
Talk to a licensed representative who will guide you through every step of the process.
Ask an agent
Get expert advice from an independent agent near you.