Kansas auto insurance
From the Sunflower State's country roads to its beautiful byways, Progressive can cover Kansas drivers in the event of a driving mishap. Learn more about car insurance in Kansas, including state insurance requirements, available coverages, and ways to save on car insurance with Progressive.
Does Kansas have minimum auto insurance requirements?
Kansas auto insurance laws require drivers to carry liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
Kansas mandates uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage (UM/UIM BI) with the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury liability
- $50,000 in total uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident
Additionally, Kansas required all drives to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage with a minimum limit of $4,500 per person
Comprehensive and collision coverages are designed to protect your vehicle
If you're leasing or financing your vehicle, your lender typically requires comprehensive car coverage and auto collision coverage. Even if your ride is paid in full, physical damage coverages can be worth carrying to protect your vehicle against theft, vandalism, and collisions.
Progressive's Name Your Price® Tool gives you the power. Tell us how much you're able to pay each month, and we'll show you coverage options in that range. Learn more about our Name Your Price Tool.
How much is car insurance in Kansas?
In 2020-2021, the average cost of a Progressive liability-only auto insurance policy (single driver/single car) in Kansas was $77.* Rates vary based on several factors, including the coverages and limits you choose, as well as your driving history and ZIP code.
See more about what determines car insurance price.
Does Progressive offer car insurance discounts?
Yes. Progressive offers a range of discounts to find cheaper car insurance in Kansas, including:
- Continuous insurance
- Three-year safe driving
- Online quote
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
- Paid in full
Want to save even more money? Bundle your auto and homeowners insurance in Kansas. Progressive makes it easy to bundle two or more policies, including any combination of car, home, and renters insurance in Kansas.
See all auto insurance discounts.
Switch and save. Nationwide, customers who switch and save with Progressive end up saving nearly $750 on average.** Get your car insurance quote today.
Interesting facts about driving in Kansas
Teen drivers get a head start. Kansas is one of only six states that allows teenagers to obtain their learner's permits after their 14th birthday. Learn how to properly insure your teen driver.
Drivers in Kansas can be cited for a child riding unrestrained in a vehicle. The Kansas Highway patrol provides safety seat check-ups and installations by appointment.