Are there minimum requirements for auto insurance in Nebraska?
Yes. Nebraska auto insurance laws mandate that drivers carry liability coverage with the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
If the minimum limits don’t provide enough coverage to safeguard your assets, you can increase your amount of liability coverage for more protection. Learn more about auto liability coverage.
Nebraska also requires uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage of at least:
- $25,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury and property damage coverage can pay for injuries to you and your passengers or damage to your vehicle if you’re hit by a driver with no insurance or insufficient coverage.
Consider adding comprehensive and collision coverage
If you lease or finance your vehicle, your lender usually requires comprehensive and collision coverage. Even if your vehicle is paid off, physical damage coverages can pay to repair or replace your car if it's stolen, vandalized, or damaged in a covered accident.
Safe driving is its own reward, but why stop there? Drive safely and save with Snapshot® from Progressive. Snapshot personalizes your rate based on your driving habits. See how Snapshot works.
How much is Nebraska car insurance?
The average cost of a liability-only auto insurance policy from Progressive in Nebraska was $128 per month in 2020.* Rates vary based on several factors, including your coverage selections, driving history, and location.
Does Progressive offer discounts that can lower the cost of my car insurance?
Yes. Progressive offers a wide range of discounts, including:
- Continuous insurance
- Three-year safe driving
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
- Five-year accident-free
- Paid in full
Fast facts about driving and auto insurance in Nebraska
According to the US Department of Transportation, 82% of Nebraska residents drive their own vehicles to and from work each day. Whether you're commuting on rural roads or city streets, auto insurance can pay for damages to your car in the event of an accident.
Teenagers in the Cornhusker State can obtain their permits at 14 years old and can drive unsupervised to and from school just two months later. Learn more about car insurance for teen drivers.
Nebraska sees between 51 and 66 tornadoes every year. Hail and flying debris from even minor tornadoes and storms can damage your vehicle. Comprehensive coverage can pay to repair or replace your vehicle if damaged in a tornado.
How to get car insurance in Nebraska
Customize coverages to you and your vehicle(s).
Call a rep
A licensed representative will guide you through the process.
Meet with an agent
Connect with an independent agent in your area.