Does Iowa require car insurance?
Yes. Iowa's auto insurance laws mandate the following minimum liability coverage limits:
- $20,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $40,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 in property damage liability
These are just the minimum limits required by your state. It's always a good idea to consider higher liability limits to give yourself more protection in case you're ever at fault in an accident. Learn more about auto liability insurance.
Comprehensive & collision coverage offers more peace of mind
Comprehensive and collision coverage can help pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it's damaged in an accident or by something unexpected, such as a fallen tree branch. You're also covered for theft and vandalism. In most cases, your lender will require you to carry these coverages if you lease or finance your vehicle.
Our Name Your Price® tool gives you the power to choose. Tell us what you'd like to pay, and we'll show you insurance options in that price range.
How much is Iowa car insurance?
The average cost of a liability-only auto insurance policy (single driver/single car) from Progressive in Iowa was $62 per month in 2020-2021.* Rates vary based on several factors, including your coverage selections, driving history, and ZIP code. Learn more about the cost of car insurance.
Does Progressive offer discounts that can lower the cost of my car insurance?
Yes. Progressive can help you find cheap car insurance in Iowa through a variety of discounts, such as:
- Five-year accident-free
- Online quote
- Paid in full
- Five-year claim-free
Protect your assets—and save money—by bundling your auto and home insurance in Iowa. Progressive makes it easy for Iowa residents to save when they bundle any two or more policies, including car, home, RV, and renters insurance.
See all auto insurance discounts.
Fast facts about driving and auto insurance in Iowa
From road debris to hailstorms, cracked windshields are a hassle. In fact, Iowa ranks in the top ten for states with the most hail loss claims. Learn more about how insurance covers windshield replacement.
Iowa's distracted driving law prohibits texting or using a hand-held device while driving. Most drivers under the age of 18, however, may not use electronic devices at all while behind the wheel.