New Hampshire car insurance
From Mount Washington to the Kancamagus National Scenic Byway, New Hampshire abounds with natural beauty to explore by car. Before you tackle the winding roads of the White Mountains, make sure you carry reliable car insurance. Progressive offers a range of coverage options and discount opportunities for auto insurance in New Hampshire, so you can drive with peace of mind and affordable protection.
Does New Hampshire require car insurance?
Car insurance in New Hampshire isn't required, but New Hampshire law requires you to show proof of financial responsibility if you're liable for someone else's injuries or damages. Liability coverage can help you properly protect your assets if you're at fault in an accident. If you buy car insurance, here are the state minimum auto insurance limits in New Hampshire:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability per vehicle
What are New Hampshire's uninsured motorist laws?
More than 6% of drivers in New Hampshire were uninsured in 2019, according to the Insurance Information Institute. And, if you buy auto insurance in New Hampshire, uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury and property damage are mandatory coverages with the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
- $50,000 in total uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident
New Hampshire also requires $1,000 per person in medical payments coverage if you purchase an auto policy. Medical payments can pay for medical bills resulting from a covered accident.
Consider comprehensive and collision coverage
Your lender will typically require comprehensive and collision coverage if you're leasing or financing your car. Even if your vehicle is paid off, these coverages can pay to repair or replace your car if it's stolen, vandalized, or damaged in a covered accident.
If you're a safe driver, we think you should be rewarded. Snapshot® from Progressive personalizes your rate based on your driving habits. See how Snapshot works.
How much is New Hampshire car insurance?
In New Hampshire, the average cost of a liability-only auto insurance policy (single driver/single car) from Progressive was $79 per month in 2020-2021.* Rates vary based on several factors, including your driving history, location, and coverage selections.
Does Progressive offer discounts that can lower the cost of my car insurance?
We offer a range of discounts to help lower your policy's price, such as:
- Online quote
- Paid in full
- Five-year claim-free
- Teen driver
Your home and car are both valuable assets, which is why we offer a discount when you choose to bundle home and auto insurance in New Hampshire. Learn more about homeowners insurance in New Hampshire.
See all auto insurance discounts.
Save a bundle when you bundle your home and auto insurance policies with Progressive. New customers nationwide who save when they bundle home and auto insurance with us save over 20% on average.**
Fast facts about driving in New Hampshire:
New Hampshire is the only state without laws requiring seat belts for drivers or passengers. Buckle up anyway, as seat belt usage has been proven to reduce fatalities and injuries in car accidents.
New Hampshire is an at-fault state. Even though auto insurance isn't a state law, you're still legally and financially responsible for any injuries or damages you cause to another driver.
One of the hazards of driving on rural roads is loose gravel and rocks being kicked up at your windshield. Comprehensive coverage can pay to repair or replace a cracked windshield.