Oklahoma auto insurance
Whether you're setting out on a road trip on Route 66 or heading to work, car insurance in Oklahoma can help protect you and your vehicle. Explore Oklahoma's auto insurance requirements and optional coverages and discounts available through Progressive. Plus, find ways to easily get Oklahoma car insurance quotes when you shop with us.
Does Oklahoma have minimum requirements for car insurance?
Yes. Oklahoma drivers must carry liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
Although these are Oklahoma's minimum auto insurance requirements, you may want to consider increasing your liability limits to give yourself more protection and peace of mind. Learn more about auto liability insurance.
Comprehensive and collision coverage may be right for you
Most lenders require comprehensive and collision coverage if you lease or finance your vehicle. But even if you own your car outright, consider adding these coverages so your vehicle is covered if it's damaged or stolen. Learn more about comprehensive coverage and collision coverage.
We believe safe drivers should save more. With Snapshot® from Progressive, your rate is personalized based on your driving habits.
What's the average cost of car insurance in Oklahoma?
In 2020-2021, the average cost of a liability-only Progressive auto insurance policy (single driver/single car) in the Sooner State was $73 per month.** Rates vary based on your ZIP code, driving history, and the limits and car insurance coverages you choose.
What are the available car insurance discounts in Oklahoma?
Progressive offers a range of discounts, such as:
- Continuous insurance
- Three-year safe driving
- Five-year accident-free
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
- Online quote
If you own your home, bundling your car and home insurance in Oklahoma can help you save, all while protecting your most valuable assets. Do you rent? You can also earn a discount when you bundle your auto and renters insurance policies.
See all car insurance discounts.
Customers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save nearly $750 on average.* Get your car insurance quote today.
Interesting facts about driving in Oklahoma
Oklahoma lawmakers passed a law in 2017 that prohibits driving in the left lane of a divided highway, unless the driver is passing a slower vehicle. Always maintain a safe speed if you choose to pass a slower vehicle. Speeding can lead to accidents and tickets which may increase your car insurance rate.
In Oklahoma, every driver and front seat passenger is required to wear a seat belt. If you don't buckle up, you could be pulled over.
In 2019, Oklahoma had the fourth highest number of tornadoes. Your car is not the safest place to be during a tornado — seek underground shelter whenever possible.