Does South Dakota have minimum requirements for car insurance?
Yes. Car insurance in South Dakota is required and must include the following minimum liability coverage limits:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
You can increase your auto liability coverage limits to protect your assets better, if necessary.
South Dakota also requires uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury at the following minimum limits:
- $25,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident
Uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury safeguards against injuries sustained in an accident with a driver who has no insurance or not enough coverage.
Add comprehensive and collision coverage for vehicle protection
If you're leasing or financing your vehicle, your lender will likely mandate physical damage coverages. Discover how comprehensive coverage and collision coverage can protect your vehicle against damage.
Bundling your home and auto policies with Progressive can help you save. New customers nationwide who save when they switch their auto and home insurance to Progressive save over 20% on average.*
What is the cost of South Dakota car insurance?
In 2020-2021, the average cost for a liability-only auto insurance policy (single driver/single car) from Progressive in South Dakota was $64 per month.** Rates vary based on many factors, including your driving history, coverage selections, and location.
Are there any South Dakota car insurance discounts available?
Progressive offers a range of discounts to reduce the cost of car insurance in South Dakota, such as:
- Five-year accident-free
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
- Online quote
- Paid in full
See more auto insurance discounts.
Switch and save. Customers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive can save over $650 on average.* Get your car insurance quote today.
Check out these interesting facts about driving in South Dakota:
A 2020 South Dakota law increased the teen driver permit phase from 90 to 180 days and added additional supervised driving requirements. Learn more about adding a teen driver to your auto insurance policy.
South Dakota’s dust and windstorms can cause windshield damage from flying rocks. See how your auto insurance can cover windshield and glass damage.
Get a quote for car insurance in South Dakota
Customize your policy's coverages, limits, and deductibles.
Talk to a licensed representative who will guide you through every step of the process.
Ask an agent
Get expert advice from an independent agent near you.