What are the minimum requirements for car insurance in Alabama?
Your state requires liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
Although these are the minimum coverages required for Alabamans, you may increase your auto liability limits to better protect your assets.
Protect your car with comprehensive and collision coverage
If you're leasing or financing your vehicle, your lender typically requires comprehensive and collision coverage. But even if you own your car outright, adding these coverages can help pay to repair or replace a damaged, vandalized or stolen vehicle.
With Progressive's Name Your Price® Tool, you tell us what you want to pay, and we'll give you options that fit your desired price. See more on our Name Your Price Tool.
How much does Alabama auto insurance cost?
In 2020, the average cost of a Progressive liability-only car policy in Alabama was $139 per month.* Rates vary based on many factors, including your driving history and coverage selections.
Do I qualify for any auto insurance discounts to lower my cost?
Progressive can help you get cheaper auto insurance in Alabama with discounts like:
- Online quote
- Paid in full
- Three-year safe driving
- Online signature
- Smart technology
Facts about Alabama car insurance
Driving without insurance in Alabama can be costly. The fine for a first offense is up to $500, plus another $200 to reinstate your registration.
Insurance fraud is a Class B felony in Alabama. See how to properly file an auto insurance claim.
How to get car insurance in Alabama
We ask simple questions, then you choose your coverages.
Call a rep
A licensed representative can guide you through the process.
Through an agent
Connect with an independent agent near you.