Arkansas car insurance

Believe it or not, if you're driving through Little Rock after 9 p.m., you can be fined for honking your horn at any place that serves cold drinks and sandwiches. Progressive can't help you with that one, but we can help you when it comes to Arkansas auto insurance. Learn about coverage options, state requirements for car insurance in Arkansas, and additional ways you can save.

3 min to read

Explore Progressive Answers' auto editorial guidelines to find out why you can trust the car insurance information you find here.

What are Arkansas' auto insurance requirements?

If you're an Arkansan who drives, you're required to have liability coverage limits of at least:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage per accident

These are the minimum limits you need, but you might want higher limits to safeguard your assets. Get more information about auto liability insurance.

Comprehensive & collision coverage can protect your vehicle against damage

Most lenders require comprehensive and collision coverage for a financed or leased vehicle. But even if you own your car outright, wouldn't it be nice to know you're covered if your vehicle gets damaged or stolen? Use our car insurance calculator to see if comprehensive and collision make sense for you.

Learn more about all auto coverages available through Progressive.

Thinking of switching insurance? Drivers nationwide who switch and save with us save nearly $750 on average.* Get a car insurance quote today.

How much does insurance in Arkansas cost?

In 2018, Arkansas had a lower average expenditure for car insurance than most other states, according to the Insurance Information Institute. Keep in mind that rates may vary based on your driving history, ZIP code, and the limits and coverages you choose.

See more about what determines car insurance price.

Are there discounts available to help save on my Arkansas auto insurance?

Yes. Progressive offers plenty of ways to get cheaper car insurance in Arkansas with discounts and other incentives, including:

  • Multi-policy
  • Multi-car
  • Homeowner
  • Online signature
  • Five-year claim-free
  • Teen driver
  • Paid in full
  • Distant student
  • Recent college graduate
  • Snapshot®

When you bundle your car and home insurance in Arkansas, you'll save money while protecting your two most valuable assets. Progressive lets you bundle two or more policies, so Arkansas residents can save when they bundle any combination of home, auto, renters, and RV insurance.

See all car insurance discounts.

Pro tip:

Bundle your home and auto policies with Progressive and you could save. New customers nationwide who save by bundling their home and auto save an average of over 20% per year.*

What Arkansas drivers should know before getting behind the wheel:

  1. Arkansas requires drivers and all front-seat passengers to wear a seat belt.

  2. In 2019, Arkansas was in the top 10 states with the most uninsured drivers. Consider uninsured motorist coverage to protect yourself if the other driver can't pay.

  3. Texting while driving is banned in Arkansas and can get you pulled over. Save the conversation for later to avoid a ticket and stay safe on the road.

How to get car insurance in Arkansas

Online

Answer some easy questions and choose coverages.

Quote auto insurance

Call us

A licensed representative will answer any questions you have.

Call 1-866-749-7436

Ask an agent

Need local advice? We'll connect you with a licensed independent agent near you.

Find an agent in Arkansas

Quote car insurance online or give us a call

Learn more about car insurance policies.