Does Louisiana require car insurance?
Motorists in Louisiana are required to carry car insurance coverage. Louisiana's minimum liability coverage limits consist of:
- $15,000 in bodily injury per person
- $30,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
These figures represent Louisiana's minimum auto insurance coverages needed, but if you want additional auto liability coverage, you can increase your limits to better protect your assets.
Comprehensive and collision coverage protect your vehicle
If you're leasing or financing your vehicle, your lender typically requires comprehensive and collision coverage. But even if you own your car outright, consider adding these important coverages in case your vehicle is stolen or damaged.
With Progressive's Name Your Price® Tool, you tell us how much you want to pay — and we'll give you options that work for you. See more on our Name Your Price tool.
How much is car insurance in Louisiana?
In 2020-2021, the average cost of a liability-only auto policy (single driver/single car) from Progressive in the Pelican State was $142 per month.* Rates vary based on a number of factors, such as your driving history, ZIP code, and coverage selections.
Are there any discounts that can lower the cost of my car insurance?
Progressive offers a variety of discounts to help you get cheaper auto insurance in Louisiana:
- Anti-theft device
- Five-year accident-free
- Online quote
- Continuous insurance
- Three-year safe driving
When you bundle auto and homeowners insurance in Louisiana, you can rest assured your valuables will be protected — and you'll save money, too. Other ways to earn a multi-policy discount include bundling auto and renters insurance or a combination of two or more policies with Progressive.
Ready to switch things up? Drivers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save over $650 on average.** Get a car insurance quote today.
Facts about auto insurance in Louisiana
The Insurance Information Institute ranked Louisiana as the most expensive state for car insurance in 2018. Find out how you can lower the cost of auto insurance.
12% of Louisiana drivers are uninsured, according to a 2019 study. Uninsured/underinsured bodily injury and property damage coverage can help protect you against drivers with no insurance.
If you need an SR-22, Louisiana law mandates that you carry one for three years. After that period, if you've had no lapse in coverage, the SR-22 can be dropped.
How to get car insurance in Louisiana
We ask easy questions, and you customize your coverages.
Call a rep
Talk with a licensed representative who can guide you through the process.
Through an agent
Connect with an independent agent in your area.