Does Missouri have minimum car insurance requirements?
Yes, it does. Missouri minimum auto insurance requires drivers to have liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
Missouri also mandates uninsured motorist bodily injury (UM BI) with the following minimum limits:
- UM BI: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
These are the minimum coverages for residents of Missouri, but you may want to consider upping your limits or adding more coverages to give yourself even more protection. Learn more about auto liability insurance.
Add comprehensive and collision coverage for peace of mind
Most lenders require comprehensive coverage and collision coverage if you're financing or leasing your vehicle. Even if you own your car outright, you may want these coverages because they can reduce the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle in the event of an accident, theft, or other covered incident.
Bundle your home and auto insurance policies — drivers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save over $650 on average.*
How much is Missouri car insurance?
In 2020-2021, the average cost of a liability-only Progressive auto policy (single driver/single car) in Missouri was $87 per month.** From your ZIP code to the limits and car insurance coverages you choose, there are many things that can determine the price of car insurance. Learn more about the factors that impact car insurance rates, and get car insurance quotes for Missouri through Progressive.
How do I get cheaper car insurance in Missouri?
One way to lower the cost of your Missouri auto insurance is by earning discounts. Here are just a few you may be eligible for with Progressive:
- Paid in full
- Online signature
- Three-year safe driving
- Continuous insurance
- Five-year claim-free
See all car insurance discounts.
Safe drivers can save more. Snapshot® from Progressive personalizes your rate based on your driving habits.
Fast facts about driving in Missouri
Missouri had the seventh-highest number of motor vehicle thefts in the country in 2019. Consider buying comprehensive coverage if you're worried about someone stealing your car.
If anyone 8-15 in your vehicle is not wearing a seatbelt, you could get pulled over. Be sure your younger passengers buckle up to keep them safe and avoid a fine.
An estimated 16.4% of drivers in Missouri were uninsured in 2019. You can give yourself more protection by increasing your uninsured motorist coverage limit.
How to get a car insurance quote in Missouri
Answer some easy questions and choose coverages.
A licensed representative will answer any questions you have.
Ask an agent
Need local advice? We'll connect you with a licensed independent agent near you.