Oregon car insurance
Oregon offers some of the most stunning roadways in the country, like the rugged Pacific coastline or the scenic Columbia River Gorge. Whether it's a road trip or your daily commute, we'll make sure you have the right coverage for peace of mind behind the wheel. Learn more about Oregon state minimum insurance limits, additional coverage options, and even a few ways you can save with discounts. Plus, find easy ways to get an Oregon car insurance quote from Progressive.
What are Oregon's auto insurance requirements?
Oregon state minimum insurance limits require all drivers to have car insurance. For liability coverage, you need limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 in property damage per accident
The Beaver State also mandates personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage (UM/UIM BI) with the following minimum limits:
- PIP: $15,000
- UM/UIM BI: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Personal injury protection takes care of your medical costs, plus lost wages and death benefits, and you can receive a payout even if you're at fault. UM/UIM BI also covers medical expenses for you and your passengers if a driver with insufficient coverage (or no insurance at all) runs into you.
These are just the minimum coverages and limits you need in Oregon. Consider increasing your limits or adding more coverages to give yourself more protection.
Find out if comprehensive and collision coverage are right for you
Most lenders will require comprehensive coverage and collision coverage if you lease or finance your car. But even if you aren't required to carry them, these coverages are good to have in case your car is ever damaged or stolen. If you ever file a claim, all you'd need to pay is your deductible, rather than the repair bill.
See all available auto insurance coverages from Progressive.
Thinking about switching car insurance? Drivers nationwide who switch and save with us save nearly $750 per year on average.* Get your personalized car insurance quote now.
How much is car insurance in Oregon?
As of 2020-2021, the cost of a Progressive liability-only auto policy (single driver/single car) in Oregon was an average of $97 per month.** Your driving record, the coverages and limits you select, and many more factors determine the rate you pay for car insurance.
What Oregon car insurance discounts can I take advantage of?
There are a range of car insurance discounts available to Oregon drivers. Progressive can help you find cheaper auto insurance in Oregon with lots of great discounts like:
- Five-year claim-free
- Paid in full
- Online quote
- Teen driver
See all auto insurance discounts.
New customers nationwide who save bundling home and auto insurance save over 20% on average.* Bundle today and start saving.
What to know when driving in Oregon:
In Oregon, everyone in your vehicle is required to wear a seat belt regardless of which seat they're in or how old they are. Not wearing a seat belt can also get you pulled over, so click it and avoid a ticket.
Oregon doesn't look kindly on speeding or reckless driving. The Beaver State carries some of the heftiest fines for first- and second-time offenders.
Like many other large cities, car theft may be a risk in Portland. You can protect yourself by locking your car and adding comprehensive coverage to your auto policy.