What are Colorado's minimum car insurance requirements?

Colorado drivers are required to have liability coverage limits of at least:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
  • $15,000 in property damage per accident

If you want additional protection beyond Colorado's minimum insurance requirements, consider increasing your auto liability insurance limits to better protect your assets.

Cover your vehicle with comprehensive and collision coverage

If you're leasing or financing your vehicle, most lenders mandate physical damage coverages. If you own your vehicle outright, comprehensive and collision coverage can still be vital in protecting your vehicle against damage, vandalism, and theft.

The Progressive Snapshot® discount program personalizes your rate based on your driving habits. The safer you drive, the more you could save. See more on our Snapshot program.

How much is car insurance in Colorado?

In 2020, the average car insurance cost in Colorado was $151 per month* for a liability-only auto policy from Progressive. Rates vary based on factors like your driving history, ZIP code, and coverage selections.

Are there any discounts available to drive down the cost of my car insurance?

To help you get cheaper car insurance in Colorado, Progressive offers an array of discounts, including:

  • Multi-policy
  • Multi-car
  • Homeowner
  • Paid in full
  • Smart technology
  • Three-year safe driving
  • Paperless
  • Teen driver

With Progressive, you can get even greater protection and extra savings by bundling home and auto insurance in Colorado. By bundling other policies — such as renters, motorcycle, and RV — you can also earn multi-policy discount savings.

See all auto insurance discounts.

Fast facts about driving and car insurance in Colorado

  1. In 2019, Colorado ranked 6th for the most reported car thefts in the country. If you carry comprehensive coverage, your policy can help cover the cost to replace your stolen vehicle.

  2. Comprehensive coverage can also pay for damage to your automobile caused by hailstorms. You could reduce the cost of comprehensive coverage by increasing your car insurance deductible.

  3. Red light cameras are common in Colorado. The maximum penalty for a violation captured by a red light camera is $75.

How to get auto insurance in Colorado

Go online

We ask easy questions, and you customize your coverages

Call a rep

Talk with a licensed representative who can guide you through the process.

Through an agent

Connect with an independent agent in your area.