What are Delaware's car insurance requirements?
Car insurance is mandatory for all drivers. Delaware state minimum auto insurance laws require you to have liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 in property damage per accident
Delaware also mandates personal injury protection (PIP) with the following minimum limits:
- PIP: $15,000
PIP covers medical costs, plus lost wages and death benefits, and you can receive a payout even if you're at fault.
These are the minimum coverages for Delaware drivers, but there are many other optional car insurance coverages to choose from. You may want to consider choosing higher liability limits for full protection of your assets. Learn more about auto liability insurance.
Consider comprehensive and collision coverage
Most lenders require comprehensive coverage and collision coverage if you're financing or leasing your vehicle. But even if you own your vehicle outright, these coverages may be worth adding. With comprehensive and collision, you're covered for damage to your vehicle if you're hit by another car, a tree limb falls on your car, or if other unexpected scenarios occur.
Bundle your home and auto insurance policies — drivers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save over 20% on average.*
How much is car insurance in Delaware?
In 2018, Delaware drivers had a higher average expenditure for auto insurance than most other states, according to Insurance Information Institute data. Several factors can impact car insurance cost, including the limits and coverages you choose, your driving history, and your ZIP code.
Are there Delaware auto insurance discounts available through Progressive?
Yes. We offer a variety of discounts to Delaware drivers, including:
- At-fault accident-free
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
- Three-year safe driving
- Electronic signature
- Continuous insurance
- Online quote
- Five-year accident-free
See all auto insurance discounts.
Our Name Your Price® tool tool puts you in the driver's seat. Tell us how much you're able to pay each month, and we'll show you coverage options in that range.
Fast facts about Delaware's roadways:
The Delaware Turnpike is among the country's most expensive toll roads, costing drivers 29 cents per mile. If you travel this roadway regularly, you may want to consider carpooling.
According to SafeWise, Delaware is the strictest enforcer of distracted driving in the nation based on the number of tickets issued for distracted driving instances of texting or using a cell phone while driving.
An estimated 8.5% of Delaware drivers were uninsured in 2019. Uninsured motorist coverage can help protect you from a run-in with an uninsured driver.
How to get a car insurance quote in Delaware
Customize your policy's coverages, limits, and deductibles.
Talk to a licensed representative who will guide you through every step of the process.
Ask an agent
Get expert advice from an independent agent near you.