Is car insurance mandatory in South Carolina?
Yes, drivers in South Carolina must carry car insurance by law. South Carolina auto insurance requirements include liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
What are South Carolina's requirements for uninsured motorist coverage?
South Carolinians are also required to carry uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage (UMBI) and uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD) with the following minimum limits:
- UMBI: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
- UMPD: $25,000 with a $200 deductible
UMBI covers medical expenses for you and your passengers if a driver without insurance coverage runs into you. UMPD can pay for damage to your vehicle caused by an uninsured driver.
Consider increasing your auto liability insurance limits, so your assets are protected if you're liable for injuries or damages resulting from an auto accident.
Comprehensive and collision coverage can safeguard your vehicle
If you own your car outright, physical damage car insurance coverages are optional, but they can help pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it's damaged or stolen. If you're leasing a car or have an auto loan, your lender will likely require you to carry comprehensive coverage and collision coverage.
We think safe drivers should be rewarded. Snapshot® from Progressive personalizes your rate based on your driving habits. See how Snapshot could help lower your rate.
What's the average car insurance cost in South Carolina?
In 2020-2021, South Carolinians paid an average of $134 per month for a liability-only auto policy (single driver/single car) from Progressive.** Rates vary based on several factors such as your driving history, ZIP code, and coverage selections.
See more about car insurance cost factors
How can I lower my car insurance cost?
Progressive offers many ways to lower your costs with a variety of car insurance discounts in South Carolina, including:
- Continuous insurance
- Five-year accident-free
- Paid in full
- Online quote
- Three-year safe driving
If you own your home, bundling your car and home insurance in South Carolina helps you save money while protecting your assets. In fact, you can bundle and save on two (or more) policies through Progressive. So if you rent your home, own an RV or boat, or drive a motorcycle, you can earn a discount when you bundle any combination of auto, home, RV, boat, motorcycle, and renters insurance policies.
See all auto insurance discounts.
Are you thinking about switching car insurance? Drivers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save over $650 on average.* Get your customized car insurance quote now.
Fast facts about car insurance in South Carolina:
South Carolina requires insurers to offer a zero-dollar deductible on windshield repairs. Learn more about glass and windshield damage.
Medical payments coverage isn't mandated in South Carolina. If you pass on this coverage, make sure you have health insurance to cover medical bills resulting from an auto accident.
In South Carolina, a felony insurance fraud conviction could result in a prison sentence of up to 10 years. See steps for properly filing an auto insurance claim.
How to get auto insurance in South Carolina
Answer some easy questions and choose coverages.
A licensed representative will answer any questions you have.
Ask an agent
Need local advice? We'll connect you with a licensed independent agent near you.