What are the minimum Washington State car insurance requirements?
Washington State drivers need liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 in property damage per accident
Before you get behind the wheel, make sure your liability insurance is enough to cover your overall assets.
Protect your vehicle with comprehensive and collision coverage:
Most lenders in the state will mandate that you carry physical damage coverages. And if your vehicle is paid in full, but holds any significant value, it's still wise to add them. Comprehensive and collision coverage can pay for the repair or replacement of your car if it's in an accident, gets stolen, or is otherwise damaged as a result of a covered incident.
Ready to make the switch? Drivers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save over $700 on average.* Get a car insurance quote today.
How much is car insurance in Washington State?
In 2020, the average cost for a Progressive auto liability-only policy in Washington State was $140 per month.** Your rate can vary based on a variety of factors. These include your zip code, driving history, plus the limits and coverages you opt for.
Can I get cheaper car insurance in Washington State through discounts?
You may qualify for money-saving discounts, such as:
- aid in full
- Five-year accident-free
- Online quote
- Good student
- Distant student
- Vehicle tracking system
Facts about Washington State auto insurance:
In 2015, Washington State ranked 7th for most uninsured drivers, at 17.4%. Consider adding uninsured motorist coverage to protect you if the other driver can't pay.
Washington State ranked 4th among all states for most vehicle thefts. Add comprehensive coverage to protect your vehicle against theft.
Fraudulent insurance claims in Washington State are counted as a gross misdemeanor or class C felony.