What are Nevada's auto insurance requirements?
Nevada requires drivers in the state to have a car insurance policy. Drivers need auto liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 in property damage per accident
These are the minimum limits for Nevada drivers, but you can increase your auto liability coverage for added protection and peace of mind.
Consider comprehensive and collision coverage
Your lender will typically require comprehensive coverage and collision coverage if you're leasing or financing your car. Even if your vehicle is paid off, these car insurance coverages can pay to repair or replace your car if it's stolen, vandalized, or damaged in an accident.
Ready to roll the dice? Drivers nationwide who switch and save with Progressive save over $650 on average.* Get a car insurance quote today.
How much is car insurance in Nevada?
In 2020-2021, the average cost for a liability-only Progressive policy (single driver/single car) in Nevada was $117 per month.** Rates vary based on many factors, including your driving history, coverage selection, and ZIP code.
See more about car insurance cost factors.
Are there Nevada car insurance discounts available?
Progressive offers ways to lower the cost of car insurance in Nevada with discounts like:
- Continuous insurance
- Online quote
- Three-year safe driving
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
If you own your home, bundling your auto and home insurance in Nevada can help you save money, all while protecting your most valuable assets. Do you rent? Bundling your car and renters insurance can also earn you a discount.
See all auto insurance discounts.
The safer you drive, the more you'll save. Snapshot® from Progressive personalizes your rate based on your driving habits. Take a closer look at all that Snapshot offers.
More interesting facts about Nevada auto insurance:
Nevada is a well-known hotspot for classic car collectors. Learn more about protecting your collectible or antique vehicle with classic car insurance.
More than 10% of Nevada drivers are pressing their luck and driving without auto insurance. See how uninsured motorist coverage protects you against uninsured drivers.
Auto insurance fraud in Nevada is a felony with a punishment of up to four years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
How to get car insurance in Nevada
Answer some easy questions and choose coverages.
A licensed representative will answer any questions you have.
Ask an agent
Need local advice? We'll connect you with a licensed independent agent near you.