Rhode Island car insurance
Rhode Island may be the smallest state, but over a million people call it home — and many of them share the road with you. Before you take a drive, make sure your car insurance in Rhode Island has all the protection you need. We'll show you which auto insurance coverages are required in the Ocean State, as well as some additional insurance options and a few discounts you could earn.
Does Rhode Island have minimum car insurance requirements?
Yes. Rhode Island auto insurance requirements state that drivers must carry the following minimum liability coverage limits:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
Rhode Island also requires its drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage (UM/UIM BI). If you're hit by a driver with little or no insurance, your UM/UIM BI coverage will pay for your medical bills, as well as those of your passengers. The minimum limits required are:
- UM/UIM BI: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Note: This coverage can be rejected.
Every driver in the Ocean State must meet Rhode Island's auto insurance requirements; however, you should consider increasing your limits to better protect your financial well-being. Learn more about auto liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Check out comprehensive and collision coverage
Comprehensive and collision coverage can pay to repair or replace your vehicle if it's stolen or damaged in an accident or other unexpected event. All drivers can benefit from these coverages, but they will likely be required by your lender if you're financing or leasing your car.
Bundling your home and auto policies with Progressive can help you save. New customers who save bundling home and auto save over 20% on average.*
What is the cost of Rhode Island car insurance?
In 2020-2021, the average Progressive liability-only auto insurance policy (single driver/single car) in Rhode Island cost $151 per month.** What you pay for car insurance can depend on several factors, including your age, ZIP code, driving history, and more. Take a look at what else can impact your car insurance rate.
What discounts are available for Rhode Island drivers?
Progressive offers a range of discounts to lower Rhode Island auto insurance costs, including:
- Continuous insurance
- Three-year safe driving
- Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
- Online quote
- Paid in full
Bundling your car and home insurance in Rhode Island can help you save money, all while protecting your valuable assets. In fact, Progressive makes it easy to bundle two or more policies in Rhode Island, including auto, home, renters, and boat insurance.
Switch and save. Nationwide, customers who switch to Progressive and save with us save nearly $750 on average.* Get your car insurance quote today.
Interesting facts about driving in Rhode Island:
Rhode Island law prohibits using any hand-held wireless communication devices while driving. Keep your hands on the wheel and eyes on the road to stay safe and avoid a ticket.
Rhode Island's Block Island is only accessible by ferry, but you can drive your car aboard. Follow all posted rules onboard the ferry and consider carrying collision coverage to protect your car from a fender bender.
All drivers and passengers over 8 years old are required to wear a seat belt regardless of which seat they're in. Stay safe: Make sure you and your passengers buckle up before hitting the road.